Review: Your best Destiny by Wintley Phipps


Your Best Destiny

Your Best Destiny by Wintley Phipps

Your Best Destiny, by Wintley Phipps, is a book on helping you become the person you were created to be. Based on the description on the back cover, this book is designed to help you find what you may feel you are missing in life. In this book, Phipps is to take you on a journey through eight secrets that are to help reveal your unique character and lead you into the most amazing life you could experience. Why did I pick up this book? I guess you could say, when I first set my eyes on this book it spoke to me. For a long time I felt I was lacking something in my life, a guidance of sorts. I felt a little lost, and I hoped this book could help me discover my true calling in life.

 

In the introduction, Phipps talks about how true greatness has nothing to do with wealth, power, position, or fame, and that greatness is not through what we do, but who we are. Something I have said my whole life, but struggle daily to believe. Phipps goes on to ‘Discovering Your Best Destiny’, where, in his first chapter, he discusses the big questions. Is this all there is?, Is this truly all you were destined to do?, Were you made for something more?, Does God have a bigger plan for you?, Is your picture for your life what God wants? All questions I’m sure we’ve all asked at point or another.

 

Phipps books strives to define the true meaning behind not only success, but how to achieve it by perfecting ourselves. He does so by focusing on what he calls our ‘Ethos’. He defines our Ethos as our personality, character, emotions, guiding beliefs, habits, ideals, attitudes fundamental values, and lifestyle. Our Ethos, he says, is our soul fingerprint, and what ultimately shapes our destiny. He helps us fine tune our Ethos through his next eight chapters; Belief, Virtue, Self-Control, Perserverance, Sacredness, Kindness, and Love. In closing, he walks you through the ‘Prescription for Transformation’, and finally ‘Your Supreme Destiny’. Following the end of this book is said to be an online Your Best Destiny Personal Assessment Tool (Which I had not been able to access at the time). If you don’t have the time for the personal assessment, at the end of each chapter he does provide questions to help you apply his teachings to your own life.

 

My first impression upon starting this book was that it wasn’t quite what I was expecting it to be. I had a vision on the impact this book would have on me personally, and in the end found myself looking for a bigger connection with it then I had. It’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy the book, or that I didn’t take anything from it, but that I just didn’t follow along with his teachings like I would have liked to. Phipp’s definitely touched on good topics, made good points, and gave great advice. I was very encouraged by Phipps’s words, but I don’t feel I walked away with much more then that. There were a few things that may have come into play. Some of his chapters seemed a little jumpy, going from one topic to another quickly. There was less then a page per topic, which made it hard to pull yourself into what he is saying when you were having to change your focus so quickly. I think i’m just drawn to more deeper studies, and this book may have just been too light of a read for me.

 

I would definitely recommend to anyone interested in reading this book, to take your time to really absorb each chapter, answer each question to the fullest, and really dig deep into each of Phipp’s chapters, and how you can apply his teachings to your own life. I do feel there is a lot to be learned from this book, and it will speak to many of it’s readers, and touch many lives. There is a reason I picked up this book and I want to do right by it. For that reason I will be rereading it, and hopefully by taking more time I will find what I was seeking for when I first picked it up.

 

-I received this book for free through Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and reflect only my personal feelings.

Posted on March 23, 2016, in Book Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

