The Pharaoh’s Daughter, by Mesu Andrews


My Review of “The Pharaoh’s Daughter” by Mesu Andrews

Pharoah'sDaughter

My Review of the Pharaoh’s Daughter: A Treasure of the Nile Novel- by Mesu Andrews:
I have heard a lot of things about biblical fiction, had read many reviews, but had yet to give one of those books a try. Until I came across The Pharaoh’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews. I had never read one of her books, but I couldn’t take my eyes off of this one. I had always been fascinated by Egypt, it’s history, and it’s stories, and I just had to get my hands on this book. When I saw it for review I snatched it up without a second thought. First thing Mesu does is explain that she has done her research, biblical and historical, and apologizes for anything she may have not gotten right. First off, this is fiction, so my mind was being transported into the world that Mesu Andrews built with her own words (not a history book), and secondly, not once did I lose fascination with this story and think, “hmm, that’s not right.” I was too transfixed on this amazing story of Annipe, who goes on to become the mother of Moses.
For some reason, this story took on a whole new feeling of excitement and fascination for me. I believe it was the idea that this isn’t just some made up fiction story that bubbled up inside some author’s imagination. Although that is partially true, it was the idea that this was a retelling of a real point in history, and though the story may have been different, the chance to get to read, imagine, feel, and almost become a part of the life of Moses and his mother, to see them come to life, it was just beautiful. Mesu did an absolute wonderful job with her choice in characters (although some were hard to grow used to), and her descriptions of their homes, surroundings, and lifestyles. It was so neat to get to experience that.
This book is very strong at points, from violence, graphic descriptions of things such as childbirth, deaths, wars, tragedies of slavery and so on, it may be more suitable for those of an appropriate age to understand those things. Otherwise, I love how in depth you become with the characters. Getting to follow along with Annipe through her life, from a young child, to the woman, and mother, she becomes, and her facing all her fears of life, love, childbirth, being on her own, becoming a mother, being a n egyptian, and discovering new faith, it really brought that character to life for me. All of us feel that way and face those fears at some point in our lives. It is just so neat to get to follow Annipe, Moses, and the many other characters you come to know, through a story I had only really known from the Biblical standpoint, and stories told as a child, or retold in cartoon renditions.
Although in the end it is fiction, fiction is what I’ve come to love, and to put that together with the Word of God, it made this book join my many other favorites on my nightstand. In my opinion, I would have a hard time putting a character such a Moses on paper, to bring him to life, give him a voice, and replay his life in my own words. I think it takes a lot of strength and courage to take such an important person, and important point in history, and a place such as Egypt, and to put that all together into a book you know people will ultimately question or critique. I admire Mesu for having that talent, ability, and courage to do so. I absolutely loved this book, and look forward to reading more from her collection, and especially those books that have yet to be written. 🙂

-I received this book through blogging for books, and Waterbrook Multnomah, for free in exchange for an honest review.

About charii23

My name is Charissa, I am an inverted, self-taught artist as well as a wife and mother of two. I am a Christian with a faith that was built from the inside out, influenced only by music and beautiful sceneries. I have many strong passions in life, including hobbies I like to practice on a daily basis, such as photography, painting, writing, reading and most recently blogging. I've spent the last couple years mostly as a homemaker with my two kids. As much as I love my life at home with my kids I've spent most my life working and making an income for myself. For years before I had met my husband I worked as a preschool/daycare teacher in a toddler classroom where I was able to utilize the artist in me, creating crafts and art projects for my toddlers. Prior to that I had worked in and out of different coffee shops and daycares, both jobs I loved deeply. Now with two kids it just isn't the logical option to go to work, but neither do I want to be a homemaker for the rest of my life. I've had dreams since I was little to be something big in life. A big time photographer for National Geographic, an artist for a company like Disney or Pixar, an author for a popular book series like Harry Potter or The Hunger Games. All of which I hold the talents, I was just never paved a path or given the opportunity to be any of these. My life held a lot of ups and downs and it wasn't until recently, as my kids are becoming older and more independent, did I decide if I wasn't going to make it to college or placed on any other fast track program to making my dreams come true, then I am just going to have to try to get myself as far as my bare natural talents can take me. That is what led me to blogging. If I can't publish a book right now, then I'll spend my time reading them and expanding my knowledge on writing. I'm hoping to become more recognized as a blogger/book reviewer with hopes that when the time comes to get a book published my name will already be recognizable to an extent. As much as I would like writing to be my career I don't exactly know whether that is where God wants me. I have other talents I could very well use to build a career for myself. None of which are going to make me money right away. That is where I hand God the reins and pray he guides me. I don't know where I am headed, I only pray my journey starts to take off soon.

Posted on July 30, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

