Flash, The Homeless Donkey Who Taught Me about Life, Faith, and Second Chances- Author Rachel Anne Ridge


My review of Flash-

Flash

So I have a handful of books to choose from to review and I’m instantly drawn to this book with the cover of an adorable donkey holding a daisy. Part of me sat there and thought, “hmmm, could I really read an entire book about a donkey??” And so I go on to read the back cover, “Meet Flash: a quirky, unconventional hero with gigantic ears, a deafening bray, a personality as big as Texas, and a story you’ll never forget. It’s the heartwarming true tale of an irrepressible donkey who needed a home – and forever changed a family.” And so, being a foster mom of my own rescues, this book had already pulled at my heartstrings. Then being about an adorable donkey, of whom I’d take into my own home in a heartbeat, I answered my question, “Yes, I could totally read an entire book about a donkey!”

From the first chapter in, Rachel Anne Ridge, and her wonderful gift of storytelling, had me hooked to her story of this poor donkey who came wandering onto their property in the dead of night, and had both her and her husband (though really just her husband) doing anything and everything to get this stubborn animal up their driveway and into the safety of their pasture, where it would stay ‘ONLY’ until they could find it’s owner. Little did Rachel and her husband know, this donkey would make that pasture his home, and from that point on he would then carry them through one hardship after another.

Day by day, week by week, Rachel and her husband are doing everything to keep their family business afloat, as well as their home and kids. Morning after morning, Rachel looks out over the pasture and their mystery guest, who has by now become a beloved member of the family, and she ponders life. As she does this, she starts to realize there is more to this donkey then just some plain, grey, lazy animal, with little purpose in life but to cause problems, and pave dirt paths through their pasture. She starts to see the animal God created, who may have been plain and grey, but who was also a blessing in disguise. From the moment she decided to give Flash his name, and claim Flash as her own, she found God slowly speaking to her through him.

“…somehow, He was using a donkey to lead me to a simple truth.”
We are all going through things of our own in life, and often life tends to look plain and grey. We find ourselves desperately trying to “Live the Dream!” or reaching for that next “Exciting Chapter in Life!” but life is never that easy, and not always that colorful. So we sit back and think, “what am I doing wrong?” or “what is wrong with me?” or “what can I change about my life”. We allow the enemy to feed us lies, and we allow life to beat us down, and we become so blinded by life’s’ expectations that sometimes we even beat our own selves down. In doing so we overlook the small blessings in life, because we are so busy trying to fix the “donkey problems” as Rachel puts it.

In her book she says, “I wondered about all the “donkey problems” I faced in life. The times I thought, “If I can just figure out what I’m good at, or, If I could just change this relationship, or, If I could make a whole gob of money.” Then she goes on to say, ” I realized how often I made the mistake of thinking that ‘fixing’ things was what the journey was all about.” And Flash teaches you a great lesson about that, and many other things. You’ll just have to read it for yourselves! 😉

This book came at the perfect time in my life. It was like God gave me a Flash of my own, just when I needed him the most, and all thanks to Rachel Anne Ridge for sharing Flash with us through this absolutely wonderful read! I can not thank her enough, as an aspiring artist, mother, wife, and animal lover and foster mom , I was able to relate to her story in so many ways. Her story touched my heart, and it is one I know I will revisit again and again. Anytime I feel my heart get heavy, or life’s stresses pulling me down, I just look at this cover and smile. Thank you God, for this donkey who has given me a reason to smile, and the many smiles he will share with all those who choose to read this book, and share in his story.

Thank you Tyndale House Publishers for this review copy that I received in exchange for an honest review! 🙂

About charii23

My name is Charissa, I am an inverted, self-taught artist as well as a wife and mother of two. I am a Christian with a faith that was built from the inside out, influenced only by music and beautiful sceneries. I have many strong passions in life, including hobbies I like to practice on a daily basis, such as photography, painting, writing, reading and most recently blogging. I've spent the last couple years mostly as a homemaker with my two kids. As much as I love my life at home with my kids I've spent most my life working and making an income for myself. For years before I had met my husband I worked as a preschool/daycare teacher in a toddler classroom where I was able to utilize the artist in me, creating crafts and art projects for my toddlers. Prior to that I had worked in and out of different coffee shops and daycares, both jobs I loved deeply. Now with two kids it just isn't the logical option to go to work, but neither do I want to be a homemaker for the rest of my life. I've had dreams since I was little to be something big in life. A big time photographer for National Geographic, an artist for a company like Disney or Pixar, an author for a popular book series like Harry Potter or The Hunger Games. All of which I hold the talents, I was just never paved a path or given the opportunity to be any of these. My life held a lot of ups and downs and it wasn't until recently, as my kids are becoming older and more independent, did I decide if I wasn't going to make it to college or placed on any other fast track program to making my dreams come true, then I am just going to have to try to get myself as far as my bare natural talents can take me. That is what led me to blogging. If I can't publish a book right now, then I'll spend my time reading them and expanding my knowledge on writing. I'm hoping to become more recognized as a blogger/book reviewer with hopes that when the time comes to get a book published my name will already be recognizable to an extent. As much as I would like writing to be my career I don't exactly know whether that is where God wants me. I have other talents I could very well use to build a career for myself. None of which are going to make me money right away. That is where I hand God the reins and pray he guides me. I don't know where I am headed, I only pray my journey starts to take off soon.

Posted on July 30, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

