Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist by Amanda Jenkins


Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist by Amanda Jenkins

My Review of “Confessions of a raging perfectionist”

“Reasons I’m awesome: 11

Number of people I’ve judged for not being awesome: 3,672

Faults I work hard to hide: 14

Ways I try to earn back my good standing with Jesus: 4

Resolve to fix my faults, live up to my own expectations, and be really good at humility.”

-Amanda Jenkins in her book “Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist”

Amanda Jenkins has created a most entertaining read. I was not sure what to expect when first reading this book. Whether it was an instruction manual for those with over compulsive disorders, in need of everything to be perfect, or a devotional read for those who struggle emotionally when things aren’t completely going their way. Being a mother and wife of an actual perfectionist I was overly excited to read this book.

Funny part was when I discovered the book was more of a journal, recordings of her journey through perfectionism, and that I related to her need for perfectionism a lot more then I ever realized. Each chapter starts with her own person journal log, revealing truths most of us would hardly be able to speak out loud, much less write in a book. Her transparency is humbling, and the more I read the more I heard myself saying, “Oh that’s me!”. As I read through her chapters on relationships, parenthood, pride, obedience, happiness and so on, I found myself relating to this woman ways I had never related to someone before.

Far too often woman struggle to open themselves up to other woman for fear of judgement. We desire to relate to others, to share our struggles and fears with them, to have them agree with us. We want to see that we aren’t the only ones desiring, and yet failing, to be the perfect wife, the perfect mother, the perfect daughter, the perfect friend, and all around perfect woman. But we are too afraid of removing our masks for we also want the world to see us in our perfect forms. It’s a struggle for we long for those moments that we can strip down to our bare selves, and relate to others on the bare platforms of our lives.

Amanda Jenkins does this in her book, “confessions of a raging perfectionist (learning to be free)”. Reading Amanda’s journey through this struggle was so refreshing for someone like me who doesn’t get those chances too often to relate to other women. This is a woman who lives a life devoted to God, and has, through that self driven need, a perfect outward appearance. And yet, here she is tearing down the barriers of her perfect life for us all to see what really lies beneath; a woman struggling, stumbling, failing, and falling down before the Lord in an emotional mess of imperfection, clinging to God’s grace.

“I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that i have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Jesus Christ, is calling us.”
PHILIPPIANS 3:12-14

With permission I am gladly going to provide you with a link to Amanda Jenkin’s chapter one excerpt for “Confessions of a Raging Perfectionist”:

http://files.tyndale.com/thpdata/FirstChapters/978-1-4143-7870-1.pdf

Here is also the Author Q &A:

http://mediacenter.tyndale.com/downloads/press_kits/PerfectionistQ&A.pdf

I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Posted on August 15, 2013, in Book Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

