Healthy Oatmeal Apple Raisin Cookies


Healthy Oatmeal Apple Raisin Cookies

Okay, healthy would be if you could stop eating these…so far I think I’ve surpassed the healthy serving size in order for this recipe to live up to it’s name.

It all started earlier today when I walked into my kitchen to look for a healthy snack. I am a day away from my big shopping trip of the week, and have refused to allow myself to run to the store for what is always supposed to be quick twenty dollar shopping trips, but then turns into eighty dollar grocery shopping trips. Sadly due to this delay I found the only thing in my cupboards was whole wheat flour, oatmeal, and raisins. That became my light bulb moment.

I looked at the whole wheat flour and thought, well aside from it’s crumbliness, there should be a decent recipe out there for healthy oatmeal cookies. First recipe I came across was Martha Stewart’s healthy oatmeal cookies. So I went ahead and threw together a batch, but I have to admit, my faith was small due to how crumbly the dough was. I thought this was because instead of using half and half whole wheat and white flour I had used 3/4 whole wheat and 1/2 white. I also did not have brown sugar on hand and used raw sugar instead, which I know played a part in the crumbliness.

It was back to the computer for some more investigating to find a solution. I came across another recipe at wholegraingourmet.com which used honey. I jumped in excitement cause I actually had that in my barren cupboards! So it was back to my recipe!!
So I was excited! And hungry! But my excitement soon transformed. I was feeling confident now and that always triggers my creativity…I was becoming curious now…and I wanted to know what else I could do to this recipe.

So far I had oatmeal and raisins…exciting right? Yea, not so much. I grew up on that recipe. Again, sadly, I was low on ingredients, so this time I could only go as far as adding one other ingredient, but apples have made all the difference in this recipe.

So here I have for you my altered, and soon to be altered again, once I get to the grocery store, Healthy Oatmeal Apple Raisin Cookies. 🙂

So for my cookies:

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt (this is optional, I did not use this in the first half batch, as these really don’t need it)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup raw sugar (Martha Stewart’s recipe calls for brown sugar, if you do not have raw sugar on hand)

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 egg (or two egg whites, though I have not tested egg whites only)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Extra Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (not the quick cooking kind)
  • 1/2 cup raisins (I used the large or yellow raisins seeing as they are more juicy and all around taste better)
  • 2 small apples, skinned and diced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix dry ingredients together in medium bowl. In larger bowl, or mixer, combine wet ingredients. A little advice from the second website, when using honey be sure to measure your oil first, the honey will not stick as much to your measuring cup. Add flour mixture, stir/mix to combine. Mix in oats, raisins, and diced apples.

Using large spoon, scoop two rounded tablespoon size portions onto a cookie sheet, leaving about two inch gaps between cookies. Bake about 15 – 20 minutes, or until lightly browned. Allow cookies to cool a few minutes before transferring to wire racks or plates. Due to the honey, these cookies are extremely hot. They will crumble easily at first so be careful transferring from sheet, as well as careful when serving to children seeing as the raisins will remain hot, and can burn their little mouths (as well as adults…I will admit I am not a patient person) 😉

Seeing as these were experiment cookies, bare with me as I did add ingredients half way through, testing different options and ideas. I did though use just about all exact measurements except for the honey and the apples. The honey measurement came from the second recipe I inspected, seeing as the measuring sizes for the other ingredients were very similar.

I hope this recipe turns out as great for you as it has for me! I will be experimenting more with this recipe, seeing as I can never just leave things simple. I have big plans involving all sorts of dried fruits, nuts, and especially chocolate (don’t worry, dark chocolate in the right portions is considered healthy, right?) I look forward to getting my bake on!!

About charii23

My name is Charissa, I am an inverted, self-taught artist as well as a wife and mother of two. I am a Christian with a faith that was built from the inside out, influenced only by music and beautiful sceneries. I have many strong passions in life, including hobbies I like to practice on a daily basis, such as photography, painting, writing, reading and most recently blogging. I've spent the last couple years mostly as a homemaker with my two kids. As much as I love my life at home with my kids I've spent most my life working and making an income for myself. For years before I had met my husband I worked as a preschool/daycare teacher in a toddler classroom where I was able to utilize the artist in me, creating crafts and art projects for my toddlers. Prior to that I had worked in and out of different coffee shops and daycares, both jobs I loved deeply. Now with two kids it just isn't the logical option to go to work, but neither do I want to be a homemaker for the rest of my life. I've had dreams since I was little to be something big in life. A big time photographer for National Geographic, an artist for a company like Disney or Pixar, an author for a popular book series like Harry Potter or The Hunger Games. All of which I hold the talents, I was just never paved a path or given the opportunity to be any of these. My life held a lot of ups and downs and it wasn't until recently, as my kids are becoming older and more independent, did I decide if I wasn't going to make it to college or placed on any other fast track program to making my dreams come true, then I am just going to have to try to get myself as far as my bare natural talents can take me. That is what led me to blogging. If I can't publish a book right now, then I'll spend my time reading them and expanding my knowledge on writing. I'm hoping to become more recognized as a blogger/book reviewer with hopes that when the time comes to get a book published my name will already be recognizable to an extent. As much as I would like writing to be my career I don't exactly know whether that is where God wants me. I have other talents I could very well use to build a career for myself. None of which are going to make me money right away. That is where I hand God the reins and pray he guides me. I don't know where I am headed, I only pray my journey starts to take off soon.

Posted on May 16, 2013, in Cooking/Baking, Getting My Foot in the Door and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

