Apple and Banana Whole Wheat Pancakes


Apple and Banana Whole Wheat Pancakes

I have written a recipe before on making apple pancakes, but today I decided to experiment with two recipes that I truly love. It was my first time using a whole wheat flour, as I feared my kids would not eat it. I thought that if I made it sweet enough that maybe they wouldn’t notice. Well I was successful for in the end they ate these just as fast as they did any other pancake I have ever made them.
In this recipe I used a apple, bananna and raisin sauce mixed into a whole wheat pancake mix, saving a bit of the sauce for topping over my pancakes.
For the Sauce:
-One banana, peeled and sliced
-Raisins or dried fruit of choice (cranberries, cherries and such)
-One large apple, cored and skinned
-Half a cup or so of sugar-free apple sauce
-Half a cup of water
-A sprinkle of raw sugar
-A tbs or two of cinnamon
-A tsp of vanilla
You will want to start with a half a cup of water, warming that over the stove on med-hi heat. Take your skinned/cored apple, chop up into small half inch pieces, carefully add to pot. Slice up one whole banana, carefully add to pot. Add dried fruit. Stir in applesauce, cinnamon and vanilla. Sprinkle over the top with a dash of raw sugar. Mix well and let bring to a simmer, turn on low and allow to simmer while you make your pancake mix.
On my last blog for apple pancakes I did not add a recipe for pancake mix, but seeing as I used whole wheat flour and it turned out really well I thought I would go ahead and add the recipe I used.
Whole Wheat Pancakes:
-1 Cup of whole wheat flour
-1 tablespoon of raw sugar
-1 teaspoon of baking powder
-1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
-1/4 teaspoon of fine sea salt
-1 beaten egg
-2 tablespoons cooking oil
-1 cup of buttermilk
(NOTE- if you do not have buttermilk a trick to making your own is for each cup of sour milk needed, place one tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar in a measuring cup, then add enough milk to make 1 cup total liquid. Stir and let stand for 5 minutes before using)
Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in medium size bowl, make a well in center for the liquid. In a small bowl combine egg, buttermilk, and oil. Add egg mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened.
Check on your apple banana sauce. Remove a bit of apple with spoon and check it’s tenderness, apples should be slightly soft. Remove from heat and let stand a minute while you heat up your griddle. Remove a cup or so of sauce for topping. Fold the rest of sauce into pancake mix. If mix seems to runny you can add whole wheat flour. Do so by a tablespoon at a time to avoid overdoing it.
For typical pancake size pour 1/4 cup of batter onto lightly greased griddle (unless using non-stick). Cook over medium-heat until pancakes starts to bubble, about two minutes, then flip and cook another two minutes (or until golden brown).
Top with apple banana mixture and/or a drizzle of syrup and serve warm!! You will love these delicious whole wheat pancakes. A great healthy alternative to our favorite buttermilk pancakes. 🙂

Posted on March 20, 2013, in Cooking/Baking, Getting My Foot in the Door and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Sisters Mothers and Bloggers Oh My!! and commented:

    Find and try my recipe for Apple Banana Whole Wheat Pancakes, you won’t regret it! 😀

Leave a Reply

