Black Bean Chicken


Black Bean Chicken

Whenever my friend and I get together we always find ourselves talking about food, more often then not we end up talking about chicken recipes. We are both lovers of chicken. During a dinner date at her place she served us this very simple and yet extremely delicious recipe for black bean chicken. I couldn’t believe how easy and inexpensive this delicious dinner was. I didn’t even have to ask her the recipe and went on to make it myself for my family and I. I found even my kids enjoy this meal which is big considering my five year old has become a very picky eater, he likes his foods simple and as is, not all mixed together.
For this simple dinner all you need is a couple cans of black beans, for a family of four such as mine, having two very young kids, I can scrape by with two cans. If you have a bigger family, or older kids, or just like lots of beans, the more cans the better. A large casserole dish can usually handle four cans safely, without spilling over. Next take chicken breasts and place on top of the beans, separating them throughout the casserole dish. Take a favorite salsa, whether store bought or homemade, and top the chicken breasts. Feel free to be generous, the more flavor the better. You can season the chicken as well beforehand if you’d like. I use frozen chicken breasts which don’t hold seasoning well and found this dish to carry enough flavor as is without having to season my meat. With the salsa you can easily over do the seasoning, especially by using too much salt, so be careful. Next turn to heat to about 350 and bake for about 25-30 minutes or until chicken is heated through.
I like to serve this dish with a nice side salad and a side of veggies such as beans or corn. Top your chicken with a dollop of sour cream, a few sprinkles of cheese and you’re done. Though there are other ways to dress this meal up I try to keep it as healthy as possible by omitting most the cheese prior to baking, seeing as others recipes tend to top theirs off with cheddar before baking. If this is not a concern for you, go for it. Otherwise this is my simple, easy dinner plan for those days I just don’t feel up to spending my whole night in the kitchen. Hope you enjoy!
-Thanks to my friend for introducing me to this recipe 🙂 Love it!

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Cooking/Baking, Getting My Foot in the Door and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

