Apple Cinnamon Pancakes


Apple Cinnamon Pancakes

My kids LOVE pancakes, so much so they eat them right off the skillet, no butter or syrup. As much as I love making them pancakes, I tend to get bored with simple, sometimes bland, pancakes. As I’ve said before, I love to experiment with foods and make them more tasty and healthy.
My husband and I love to find ways to omit sugar from our diet, and since I typically eat whatever my kids eat I wanted a way to make our pancakes tasty without all the sugar. I had made banana pancakes before and thought of what other sweet fruit could go great in pancakes. Didn’t take long, as I am a big apple pie lover, and I had the recipe.
This idea can work with any pancake recipe. I use it with my pancake recipe from home and gardens cookbook. Again I typically experiment by hand and don’t really measure out my ideas, but seeing as I made this just this morning I wanted to share.
For my apple mixture I add about a cup of water to a small saucepan. I skin and cut up a couple small apples, or one large apple, into small quarter inch chunks and add that to the water. Next I take about a cup of sugar-free applesauce and stir that into the apples and water. Add about a tbs or two (your choice) cinnamon to the mixture. I simmer this over medium-low heat until the apples are tender. (While it simmers I make my pancake mixture)
After my pancake mixture is ready and my apple mixture is tender, I let it cool just a touch and then fold the apple mixture into the pancake mixture. If you feel the mixture is too runny add some flour or pancake mix until it is the consistency you are used to.
Cook the pancakes as you would any other pancakes, pouring your pancakes onto the skillet and cook until it bubbles on one side, then flip. Keep in mind the apple chunks will be hot fresh off the skillet, let cool a little before serving to small children.
This recipe isn’t going to give so much sweetness as some may prefer. If you don’t mind a sweeter recipe go ahead and add a tbs or two of sugar to the apple mixture.
If you want more apple chunks just cut up and add more apples. I typically use whatever half eaten apples I’ve rescued from my counter and put in the fridge, my kids forget they are eating fruit…a lot.
Well I hope you or your kids enjoy these pancakes as much as mine do and as much as I do 🙂

Posted on January 30, 2013, in Cooking/Baking, Getting My Foot in the Door and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

